top of page
  • Writer's picturesarahblomgren

Gonuts For Donuts

Updated: Nov 1, 2018

Not Just a Treat, Its a Lifestyle

OHHHHH BOY! I donut know what could better describe my blog than a post about doughnuts (“dons” as you’ll come to know them by my abbreviations).

Not really sure where or when the fascination started- it was probably subconsciously brewing in my head from a young age; growing in size and strength as i did, needing to be unleashed and fed at the right time. Sound scary? Well it was. The craving for dons swept over me like a stiff wind but didnt blow past, no no, it has hunkered down for the long haul. My love for dons will span centuries and (apart from showing the light of Jesus and all that) will be my legacy here on earth.

Whenever the topic of donuts comes up (which is frequently), I am often asked "whats your favorite doughnut, Sarah?". My answers always start with an uneasy shift in my stance, followed by a few ummm sounds while looking on, then finally listing off almost every doughnut known to man. I DONUT PICK FAVS WHEN IT COMES TO DONS! The excitement that comes with variety is the best part for me. I love the out-of-the-box doughnut flavors that are rare and slightly absurd; I always try those first. Actually, I have culminated a hefty list of doughnut shops around the world that I hope to visit, and have slowly been checking them off as I travel.

**Secret: (Sometimes my travel plans revolve around where certain doughnut shops are located ((and by sometimes I mean 100% of the time, every time)).

Now I know what you're thinking (well I actually don't but I'll try to guess), "Sarah you're vegan how can you like donuts so much?". Two answers:

1. I live near LA, which means there are endless vegan donuts and other delicious food possibilities, for which I am very grateful.

2. A non-vegan doughnut is the only thing I will break my veganism? Veganness? Vegan diet, whatever. Basically donuts are in their own realm according to me; which means they dont apply to food groups, the laws of physics, and most certainly don't count as calories. Its science people.

So anyways, Im not sure what the purpose of this post is other than to inform you (for your own safety) about my casual obsession with doughnuts. And to also raise awareness about the often overlooked and underestimated sweet treat that could soon be extinct if we dont act quickly. EAT MORE DOUGHNUTS!

I thought it would be cool (hahaha Im laughing as I write this sentence, understanding how very uncool it would sound to actually speak it to another human), but regardless, I thought it would be cool to give you an exclusive sneak peak at my doughnut list bahaha. So here we go:

Sarah's Doughnut List

Places i've been:

  • Donut Friend (L.A.), Crafted Donuts (L.A.), Kettle Glazed (L.A.), SK's Donuts (L.A.), DK's Donuts (Santa Monica), California Donuts (L.A.), Blue Star Donuts (Manhattan Beach), Sidecar Doughnuts & Coffee (Santa Monica), Glazed Gourmet (Charleston), Fractured Prune (Phoenix), Sublime Doughnuts (ATL), Revolutions Donuts (ATL), Proven Goods Dough Co. (ENG), Crosstown Donuts (ENG), Duck Donuts (Charlotte), Arnolds Doughnuts (Finland), Yum Yum Donuts (literally everywhere in Cali)

There are so many more places I want to explore but my fingers are getting sore, so we'll save that for the follow-up post Donuts 2.0'.

Ćao,

Sarah Bloms


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page