top of page
  • Writer's picturesarahblomgren

Just Eyeball It: The Origins

Updated: Nov 1, 2018



When people ask for the recipes of the meals I post on social media, I start sweating because its then that I realize I have none -plus im convinced I have short term memory loss so that’s not helpful. Last year in Finland, I finally decided to jot down the recipes of some of the dishes I created in my spare time (baking, particularly, was an off-day favorite of mine) just so I wouldn’t forget them. I find it funny to look back at what I wrote because the pages are covered with phrases like “30ish mins”, “however many you want” and “natural pb”. Some recipes don’t even have any measurements, just ingredients… signs of a great cookbook in the works. Anyways, the point is, I suck at precision and following recipes (hence the nervous sweating when asked). So, I started to tell people to “just eyeball it”; which I find to be the perfect title of this food blog thingy.


Just Eyeball It works so well as a title also because I recently found out that going with the flow while cooking runs in the family.

My Bubbie’s mom- if you don’t know who Bubbie is yet, im sure she’ll pop up in the blog sometime, she’s my lil Jewish gram from Brooklyn- apparently used to get asked the same question that I continue to receive regarding recipes, but she answered is a way cooler way. When asked the measurement of an ingredient she’d respond with “just a shit” (which in Yiddish means ‘pinch’, apparently). So I don’t know you guys tell me, should I make the title “Just A Shit” instead?

Long story short, I just love to create and try new things in the kitchen. And since switching to a plant-based over a year ago, my creativity has caught fire (partly because you’ve got to get a little creative with plant-based dishes) and im always up for a challenge.

But for real, over the year I have learned a ton about the health benefits of a whole-foods, plant-based diet and have had a super-duper time experimenting with vegan recipes. I never would have thought I’d be so pumped on vegan cooking and baking (ok maybe baking because im a HUUUUGE desert gal), but its so fun.

As a result of posting my experiments, more and more of my friends have begun to wonder about the food I make, which now forces me to go against my fleshy human desire to be greedy and selfish and share my loads of delish knowledge with the world (by world I mean family, some friends, and anyone bored enough to read this). So stick around and I'll start posting some recipes and stuff.


Ćao,

Sarah Bloms

 

**Side note** if you’re curious about plant-based and vegan nutrition research t

hat’s backed by solid science (not just blogs that preach EAT MORE SPIRULINA, PREFERABLY IN BOWLS MADE OF COCONUTS ON A TROPICAL ISLAND), a few stellar sources are:


The Aussie, Simon Hill from Plantproof.com (he’s got an insta and a podcast too for all you audible learners)

Dr. Will Bulsiewicz, MD. MSCI., otherwise known as The Gut Health MD (insta as well)

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page